Getting Down to Business

The business part of working as an artist is something that I find quite difficult.

I am a layed back type and more importantly all I ever want to do is artwork!  I am not lazy, yet I can never seem to be motivated enough to do the necessary chores, such as reviewing my prices, banging out the emails to clients and chasing things that haven’t been done by suppliers.

Not only does the business side not inspire me, but I just can’t do it!  The marketing ideas don’t come easily and even though I did my GCSE Maths a year early and generally excelled academically in school I don’t seem to have retained any of that knowledge over the subsequent four years.  Therefore when it comes to balancing the books, I haven’t got a clue!

I have had quite a successful day, business wise.  Having secured an exciting new client, I am actually buzzing for the first time in a while.

But just how do you keep the momentum?  Whilst I am obviously a creative person, I am not creative in a business sense – I don’t know what sells and the ideas don’t come thick and fast.

So readers, please let me know.  All help would be appreciated.  How do you get motivated when it comes to number crunching?  And just how do you come up with the ideas that sell your wares?

K.M. x

0 Responses to “Getting Down to Business”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment